Exhibition as Construction Experiment

Front cover image

Yung Ho Chang

Buy now In stock

The Images Publishing Group
Territory: USA & Canada
Size: 10.25 in x 10.25 in
Pages: 164
Illustrations: 300 color, 100 b&w

RRP $50.00

  • The first collection of exhibition designs of Yong He Chang and Atelier FCJZ
  • Yong He Chang is one of the greatest architects and artists in China
  • Simple language and inspirational detailed drawings

When architecture is the subject of an exhibition, there is almost always a dilemma: architecture can only be represented through drawings, models, and photographs; the physicality of architecture per se is missing. The abstraction of architecture for exhibition and the absence of architectural experience in architectural exhibition are in fact two sides of the same coin: The problem of the lack of an architectural reality. In this book, Yong He Chang traces the history of architectural intervention in exhibitions and answers the above questions through more than forty exhibition designs made by Chang and Atelier FCJZ. The book showcases his original approach to construction and shares his thoughts on the relationship between architecture and the timeless aspects of 'exhibition'. It also includes a discussion of a series of issues Yong He Chang and his team have encountered in designing exhibitions and installations, and the responses they came up with.

Yung Ho Chang / Atelier FCJZ Studied in both China and the US, Chang received a Master of Architecture degree from the University of California at Berkeley in 1984 and has been practicing as Atelier Feichang Jianzhu (FCJZ) with Lijia Lu in China since 1992. FCJZ's work ranges from architecture, urbanism, landscape, and interiors, to furniture, product, clothing, jewelry, stage, exhibition and art installation. Chang has taught at various architecture schools in the USA and China; he is presently a professor at Tongji University, Peking University, and MIT in the US, where he also served as the head of Architecture Department from 2005 to 2010. He was a Pritzker Prize Jury member from 2011 to 2017.